Dirty Hands – Edinburgh Fringe Festival '12

Sweet Venues Grassmarket, Apex International Hotel, 19-24, 26 August. Tickets £8 (£6 concession). Show starts at 3:40 pm.

Cast Interview – Tom Moriarty


This is the inaugural interview with a member of the Dirty Hands cast. Tom Moriarty is an Irish actor, currently living in Glasgow.  He will be playing the part of Moriarty, a Sinn Fein MP whose pragmatic views on political action cause the IRA to commission his assassination by the young Hugo.

First of all, love the accent. Where are you from?

I hail from Tralee, Co. Kerry in Ireland

That’s a bit of a ways away from Glasgow. What brought you to Scotland?

I came to scotland to study Practical Aesthetics at Acting Coach Scotland under Mark Westbrook.

Right on. His training is a bit against-the-grain. Do you have any acting heroes?

Acting heroes? William H. Macy and David Mamet, creators of Practical Aesthetics.

What were your first thoughts when Austin approached you about doing ‘Dirty Hands’?

When Austin first approached me, I was honestly very excited that I would get to use my own accent in a professional production!

Haha. Do you have any favorite bits about the show?

My favourite bit about the show is the political showdown between Hugo and Moriarty. It brims with passion and the will to change the world.

What are you most looking forward to during this year’s Fringe Festival?

This is my first time in Edinburgh and added to that the Fringe! I am looking forward to meeting a city full of actors and embracing the craft we love so much.

So, I hear there may be some drinks tossed back during the festival. Guinness or Jameson?

Guinness, love me a pint of the black stuff.

What do you most look forward to: rehearsing or performing? Why?

I look forward to both equally. In rehearsals I apply my technique and totally embrace myself in the chase for the task and in performance I live truthfully and authentically in the moment .

Is there a dream part that you hope to play one day? What? Why?

Dream part? Any part that pushes me out of my comfort zone and forces me to grow. If you’re not struggling, you’re not learning.

And last, where will you be in 5 years?

In five years I will be the face everyone thinks of when they think of an Irish actor.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2012 by .
