Dirty Hands – Edinburgh Fringe Festival '12

Sweet Venues Grassmarket, Apex International Hotel, 19-24, 26 August. Tickets £8 (£6 concession). Show starts at 3:40 pm.

Cast Interview – Steve Bangs

Well, we are about a month away from debuting the show and here’s another interview. Steve Bangs is playing multiple characters in this show: Slick, Rev. Nigel Simpson, and O’Shea.

So, tell us a bit about your acting background.

I started performing on stage at a very young age joining in with a variety of local amateur musical theatre societies around Dundee. I have studied at Dundee college for the past 2 years and am heading back for a third year of acting and performance this year, the Monday after Dirty Hands!

What was your most recent show? Tell us about it.

My most recent show was our college end of year show, The Sea by Edward Bond, written amongst the 1970’s political show down surrounding discrimination and power struggles in Britain, set in a pre world war one british fishing village. My character, the local draper, was struggling to protect the town from what he assumed was an alien invasion, but what was really a shipwreck survivor. As he descends into madness he was confronted by Mrs Rafi, a high strung lady of the gentry whom believes she is above the law, and in control of the whole town, and proceeds to cause havoc for the citizens.

So, you are doing a couple Fringe shows? Are you excited to be so active at the Festival?

Yeah I love the fringe. There is such a creative and active attitude around Edinburgh which is really inspiring. I feel really lucky to be performing twice, of course it leaves me bloody knackered. And pretty skint.

What do you hope to achieve at this year’s Fringe?

The great thing about this year for me is that I’ve managed to stay relatively active during the summer months off college. I’m hoping this will also increase my versatility in acting having taken on so many different parts.

Who are your performing inspirations?

A couple inspirations I have, besides the obvious famous practitioners, are two theatre groups I saw last year at the festival. One was Lyrebird Theatre Company, a group of mix international and national physical theatre performers who devised a fantastic show last year called Ships of Sand. The other is Fat Git Theatre Company, a group of english literature students who started a company. They caught my eye for their unorthodox show, The Nose, literally about a Russian politicians nose who runs away from him, narrated by Rasputin and his ‘accomplices’. I hope to see these two groups this year.

How are you getting on with playing multiple parts in ‘Dirty Hands’?

Multiple parts is a big challenge, not mention adding in the Irish accent. But honestly I’m so excited about it. It’s a lot of work but I’m very dedicate to the show.

Which part is your favorite so far? Why?

My favourite part ? Difficult choice…. But I’d have to go with Reverend Nigel Claudius Simpson, such a cracking name lends itself to quite a passionate character, as does the excellent text.

What comes first? Shows or Hoes?

Ah a timeless conundrum. Nah, it’s really not a choice. But you’ll have to get me drunk for an answer.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 22, 2012 by .

Dirty Hands Twitter

Dirty Hands on Facebook

Countdown to Fringe

Opening DayAugust 19th, 2012
